PHOENIX: (602) 906-9600 | PEORIA: (623) 486-1955
There are many persons named Judith Mason on Facebook.
Look for the following Facebook profile picture shown above to help guide you to the correct Facebook page to view the live stream.
(Streaming details below)

Date of Birth: December 27, 1945

Date of Death: September 15, 2022

Judith (Judy) Mason, 76, passed away on September 15th, 2022, in Glendale, AZ after an extended illness. Judy had a great sensitivity to those who suffer or struggle, whether human or animal, especially veterans, survivors of abuse, and homeless animals. She had many passions: writing, public speaking, travel, horseback riding, snorkeling, politics, shopping, active participation in her Catholic faith, and loving her family, especially her spouse of 38 years, Katherine (Kate) Worden, DO. Judy was born in Newark, NJ and settled in Lake Villa, IL. She earned a diploma in legal science from Spencerian Business College in Milwaukee in 1965, and her book of poetry, Why I Remember Yesterday, was published in 1978. She achieved a BA degree in Communications from Northeastern Illinois University’s “University Without Walls” in 1984. She worked for many years as a legal secretary, but also worked as a freelance writer, travel agent, editor, public speaker, speechwriter, and even served as the liaison between the Lake County (IL) Forest Preserve district and the governor’s office. She moved with Kate to Tucson, AZ in 1989 and later to Glendale, AZ. She was listed in the Who’s Who of American Women for 1989-1990. She was a hospice volunteer and was active in voter registration and various political campaigns. Judy suffered a traumatic car accident in her 20s that left long-lasting effects, both seen and unseen. In later life a severe case of Valley Fever caused other health problems including diabetes. More recently she underwent extensive treatment for breast cancer. Her own health challenges enhanced her compassion for those who were hurting. She was preceded in death by her mother Mary Mason and stepfather Richard Mason, her half-brother Charles, several cousins, including Patty Lee, Suzanne Philpot, and Marvin Mason. She is survived by her spouse Kate Worden and their beloved Yorkies Benji and Bindi. She is also survived by her niece Kelli (Steve) Almeida and their children Adam Pyron and Jordan Almeida; her nephew Scott (Kim) Philpot and their children Jacob, Ethan, Lucas, and Natalie; and her half-sister Linda Dermody and nieces Joy and Tracy.

Service Information

Memorial Service: Wednesday, September 28, 2022, 5:30-7:30 pm Visitation: 5:30-6:30 Memorial Program: 6:30-7:30 pm (live-streamed) Best Funeral Home-West Valley Chapel 9389 W. Peoria Ave. Peoria, AZ 85345 623.486.1955 To access live-stream go on Facebook to Judith Mason page on September 28. Live video will begin @ 6:30 pm local time (7:30 mountain, 8:30 central, 9:30 eastern) (If you are not currently on Facebook, you can create a free account at www.facebook.com using an email and password. Search for Judith Mason. This account can later be deleted if you wish.) Funeral Mass: Thursday, September 29, 2022, 10:30 am local time (11:30 am mountain, 12:30 pm central, 1:30 pm eastern) St. Thomas More Catholic Church 6810 W Utopia Rd. Glendale AZ 85308 623.566.8222 To access live-stream go to: https://stmglendale.org/livestream Copy and paste this link on September 29 @ 10:30 am.

Contributions

In lieu of flowers, please consider a donation to: Whispering Willows Senior Dog Sanctuary https://www.whisperingwillowsseniordogsanctuary.com/ Joyful Heart Foundation https://www.joyfulheartfoundation.org/ Wounded Warrior Project https://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/ Or…adopt a pet in Judy’s memory!